With Google Map Live Location, you can share real-time location on Google Map with your friends, relatives & co-workers and while doing so you’ve full control over your profile privacy. The latest Google Maps real-time sharing feature is available on both Android as well as iOS devices.
Google, the tech giant, has recently rolled out a new feature of sharing your current location popularly named “Real-time” location sharing or “Live” location sharing. This feature is now available for all Google Maps users. It will help you share your real-time location with other people, so that they can track your location.
Initially, the feature of ‘sharing location’ was available only for Google+ users. But, they discontinued the feature, a few weeks ago.
The announcement of the new feature was made through teaser news last week. As promised, Google rolled out the new feature on 27th March, 2017. Since then, several users have noticed this feature on Google Maps while others remain unaware.
How Google Map Live Location: Real-Time Sharing Feature Works?
- While using Google Maps, you will find a ‘New’ flag in the navigation bar.
- Click on the flag to allow your location to be shared.
- The recipient will first receive a notification/alert that you are trying to share your location.
- By clicking on the unique link on the notification message, they will be able to land on Google Maps and will be able to track your live location for the set period of time.
- Your real-time location will be instantly shared with your contacts via a text message or any app on your phone.
- Then, the person will be able to track your location successfully.
- You can set the time limit until where and when the person can track your location.
Highlights of Latest Google Map: Real Time Location Sharing
- Usually, the default setting of timing is either ‘one hour’ or ‘until you turn this off’.
- You can easily increase or decrease the timing as per your requirement.
- Once the time is over, the person will not be able to locate you further.
- You can even toggle it off before the time is up.
You can share your location with one person or with multiple people like your friends and relatives at the same time. You will be able to see all of them on the top of your screen. For each one of them, you will get a unique sharing link, which will help you to manage them individually.
This feature is available on both Android and iOS. Irrespective of any mobile phone you will be able to use it and if you have not seen it until now, then you need to go for an update. You must have the latest version of Android and iOS on your mobile to experience the real-time location sharing feature on Google Maps.
Interestingly, Facebook ‘Live’ location sharing feature has also been announced. Stan Chudnovsky, head of product for Messenger did not commit to a time frame and has stated, “we’re working on the right things”.
Many users who have reported this feature in their mobiles considering it as a positive step taken by Google as it is allowing better connectivity and enhancing the security. People will feel safe to travel anywhere anytime, as they will be connected to their near dear ones through Google Maps Live Location Sharing Feature. We still need to explore the real cause of introduction of the feature and also need to figure out how we can use it in a better manner.